How to become an IAS officer Concept in 2024

What is the eligibility for IAS? Benefits of doing IAS, what is the working area of ​​IAS?

Estimated salary after IAS. If you are looking for answers to these questions related to IAS, then this post is for you only.

Free Course:

How to make Good Habits free Video Course

Learn Meditation for Heart Online Video Free Course

Interviewing Techniques For Hire Best Employee

What is IAS?

The IAS exam is one of the toughest exams to be held in India. This is a very competitive exam. The IAS exam is conducted by the Union Public Service Commission.

The Civil Services had three parts during the British Government. Such as Covenanted, Uncovenanted, and Special Civil Services.

Covenanted Civil Services, also known as Honorable East India Company’s Civil Service. This included British Civil Servants working in specific posts of the government.

In 1858, the Honorable East India Company’s Civil Service was replaced by the Indian Civil Service. Which between 1858 and 1947, British rules were made the highest in India. In the Premiere Seminar of 1946, the then Union Cabinet decided to build IAS on the basis of ICS and IPS.

Eligibility to become IAS : How to become an IAS

To become an IAS, candidates have to have a graduation degree in any discipline from a recognized university. The candidate is in the last year of graduation. He can also apply for this exam. Any professional and technical degree holders like MBBS, BTech, Agriculture and Computer, etc. can also apply for this exam.

  • General- Maximum age for a candidate should be 32 years
  • The maximum age for OBC-candidate should be 35 years
  • SC/ST- The maximum age for a candidate should be 37 years.

For Indian Administrative Service and Indian Police Service, the candidate must be a citizen of India

How many times can I appear in the IAS exam?

Now let us talk about how many times one can appear in the IAS exam. Candidates who come under General Category.

They can apply for this exam 6 times, those in the OBC category can apply 9 times in it, and there is no condition for SC ST.

All these same conditions are for the people of Jammu and Kashmir. However, those who are disabled, deaf, and blind. You can do 9 Attempts for their General and Unlimited Attempts for SC/ST.

IAS officer salary

Talking the salary of an IAS officer is based on different structures. Such as Junior Scale, Senior Scale, and Super Time Scale.

There are different pay bands in the pay scales. The IAS officer is also entitled to HRA 40 percent of the basic or official residence.

Along with this, they also get DA and TA. In this, the salary increases on the basis of cabinet secretary, apex, and super time scale.

How to become an IAS officer

The IAS exam is the most competitive exam in India. Passing it is not an easy thing. It takes people years to prepare for IAS and some people do even after graduation.

Let’s start preparing for IAS. To pass the IAS exam, students have to prepare well and study hard day by night.

Only then students are able to succeed in IAS. To become an IAS, you have to clear the UPSC Civil Services Examination. This exam is divided into 3 steps –

  • preliminary examination
  • main exam
  • interview section

First of all, students have to pass the preliminary exam. A lot of hard work is also needed to pass this exam. The students who pass it are selected for the main examination.

According to the data of the main examination, only 1% of the total students who appear in the main examination are able to pass it.

Now the students who have passed the main exam are called for an interview. The candidates who pass the interview are selected for the post of IAS.

What is ITI? Qualification, Free, Instruction & Process
What is MBA? Eligibility, Course, Fields, Syllabus, and Salary

Leave a Comment